Posted by: mollyscafeistanbul | March 15, 2011

Exercise at Molly’s Café

I swear that I have longer arms and shorter legs these days from carrying supplies for the café. I know it keeps my leg muscles strong and I try to flex my arms as I carry the bags. In fact, the only exercise I get is whatever I do in or for the café. I joined the gym behind my house but for one excuse or another I have not been going. But here is the exercise I get for the café.

 

 

Every few weeks I walk over to Tahtakale to shop for the café I walk at a brisk pace for about 15 or 20 minutes. Sometimes I have business up on Istiklal Caddesi, and that also involves a brisk walk up and then back down. In fact, when I am busy I walk a lot inside the café, probably several kilometers.

 

On my way to the café I usually shop at the supermarket, the bakkal (the little market), and the manav (the vegetable and fruit seller). Sometimes I get the kid from the manav to help carry things for me and sometimes the man from the bakkal delivers heavy things. I often arrive at the café with a lot of bags, especially since I always carry dirty laundry home and bring it back clean. I am getting some things delivered now from some suppliers. They are mostly cheaper, but if the price is about the same it is worth it to have it delivered and not have to carry it.  And for your information, few people use cloth shopping bags here, although the supermarket says on the bags that they are biodegradable.  i use cloth shopping bags for the laundry and recycle the plastic ones as garbage bags.  trying to be a little green 🙂

 

The real kitchen for the café is downstairs. For example, today was bread day, so after the cook left, I set my alarm and ran down to get the bread out of the oven, then trudged (truthfully) back up the stairs. This takes place about five times. I am also training the newest cook, so I was up and down stairs several times today.

 

I use big bottles of drinking water, so when one is empty I pick up the big bottle of 19 litres and wrestle it to the counter. Getting the empty one off is easy:)

 

 

 

 

Carrying trays is a balancing act sometimes, but I can usually carry a tray in one hand and carry the teapot or another plate in the other.

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is also a lot of bending and stretching as I get things out of the cooler or put dishes away on the upper shelves. If there is no cleaner, I also get to move furniture and pick things up.

 

 

 

My fingers get a lot of exercise from typing blogs and recipes on the laptop.

 

 

 

Unfortunately I also get a lot of arm exercise by doing quality control of the various food here in the café That also means that every moment I am also carrying more kilos that I care to admit.  Ah, more to love!

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Wow, this post is good, my younger sister is analyzing sujch things,
    so I am going to convey her.


Leave a Reply

Categories

